Final Two Winning Composers Announced

January 29, 2024 (St. Paul, MN) – The Singers is pleased to announce that the final two winners of the 20th Anniversary composition contest are Remel Derrick and Roger Zare. The winning works were selected by blind review of judges Dr. Katherine Chan, Dr. Merrin Guice Gill, Jake Runestad, and Dr. Jonathan Talberg. Over 110 composers from around the world submitted scores for consideration in this program. Isaac Lovdahl, the other winner of this call-for-scores, had his work The Lamb premiered by The Singers in December 2023.

Remel Derrick‘s The Windowsill of Heaven sets a text attributed to Thomas Blake (1597-1657) and will be premiered on March 23 and 24 as part of The Singers’ My Soul’s Repose concerts (Minneapolis and St. Paul). Remel currently resides in Abilene, Texas, where he is Associate Director of Choirs at Abilene High School. See Remel’s bio and additional works here.

Roger Zare‘s winning score, Invocation, sets an evocative text by Margaret Galvan and will be premiered on Sunday, May 5 in Mahtomedi, MN as part of Windows and Mirrors: 20th Anniversary Finale. Roger is an Associate Professor of Music Composition and Theory at Appalachian State University in Boone, NC. See Roger’s bio here.

To purchase tickets to these upcoming concerts, click here.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube