JULY 20, 2023, ST. PAUL, MN The Singers, a 40-voice professional choir based in St. Paul, MN, is inviting composers to participate in its 20th Anniversary Season Call for Scores. Up to three scores will be selected for a world premiere performance during the upcoming 2023-2024 concert season. The Singers’ organization is especially interested in supporting BIPOC composers for this program, though anyone may submit a score.

The three concerts that will include a new work from this call are a Christmas program (Dec 2023), a Sacred/Spiritual program (March 2024), and a 20th Anniversary celebration (May 2024). Winning composers will each receive a $750 stipend. The deadline to submit a score is Friday, September 1, 2023 at 12:00 noon (CDT).

Musical Submission Requirements

– Though a brand new work is not necessary, submitted scores may not have received a public performance or workshop. Composers may only submit ONE SCORE for this competition.

– SATB works, with up to eight-part divisi (SSAATTBB), a cappella for Dec. and March(piano reduction requested)

– Scores submitted for May 2024 Anniversary Finale may incorporate piano

– 3-5 minutes in length (though we have some flexibility on that duration)

– Scores must be engraved on Sibelius, Finale, or similar software, if selected. For purpose of submission, handwritten scores (if legible) are acceptable.

– Texts must be in the public domain or used with documented permission of the copyright holder. The Singers will not pay additional fees for text usage as relating to this competition.

– Theme of the work should match the programs listed above.

Selected Composers will Receive:

– A performance of the full work during The Singers’ 20th Anniversary Season (2023-2024)

– A professional recording (both audio and video) of the live concert performance

– $750 stipend, plus the purchase of scores at a fair market rate.

– Notice of score status by October 1, 2023.

To participate in this Call for Scores:

– E-mail a PDF of the score to newmusic@singersmca.org by FRI. SEPTEMBER 1, 2023, 12:00 NOON (CDT).

– In the body of the e-mail, include a short bio and any website presence (links) you wish to share.

Judging Panel

The Judging Panel includes composer Jake Runestad (Minneapolis, MN), conductor/performer Dr. Merrin Guice Gill (Bethel University, MN), conductor Dr. Katherine Chan (Northeastern University, Boston), and Dr. Jonathan Talberg (California State University, Long Beach).

Please Note: Winning composers retain the copyright of their work. Performances are reported to ASCAP on a quarterly basis. Specific feedback for submitted scores cannot be given at this time.

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube